Burning out

We have just hit the halfway mark for this semester and I have to admit, I am already burnt out! With assignments after assignments, working full-time and preparing for professional experience, I am already dreaming about the holidays. It is so easy to fall into the stress of everyday life, we need to make time to stop and reflect on each experience. 

 It is so easy to get caught up in everyday things and forget why we wanted to become teachers in the first place and what kind of teacher we want to be. I should be excited about my upcoming professional experience, but instead I am quite nervous, anxious and stressed about what is ahead. Walking into an unfamiliar school, staffroom and classroom with a temporary loss of security can be quite daunting and not knowing what school I will be attending for prac is frustrating! 

Here’s hoping for a great mentor who will make the experience a lot easier and very enjoyable. I can feel Jess’s pain about prac, glad to know I am not alone!

Now to finish some more assignments and keep trotting on…..

 

 

3 thoughts on “Burning out

  1. Pingback: Prac in 2 weeks! | Chronicles of a (pre-service) Teacher

  2. G’day Kiera, Hoping things are looking a little better now. Don’t imagine that the stress about a new PE context really ever goes away. Always the biggest challenge for me. I do know a couple of strange folk that say they enjoy it, but I don’t understand that. All I figured out to do was to use that fear as fuel for planning and being prepared. It all tended to work out in the end. I’m sure your situation will as well. David.

  3. Hi David,

    I don’t know why I was even nervous about my PE context, it has worked out fabulously! I am learning so much and I am excited to return for my next prac. Thank you for your comment and advice, I completely agree with using the fear as fuel for planning, that’s exactly what I did. Looking forward to the holidays. Kiera

Leave a comment